top of page

About St. George Coptic Orthodox Church


The Coptic Orthodox Church was founded in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ by St. Mark the Evangelist in the city of Alexandria around 43 A.D. Rooted deeply in history and tradition, our church adheres to the Nicene Creed, affirming the foundational truths of Christianity.


Central to our belief is the Holy Trinity: God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit, who are equal and united in one Divine Essence. We hold steadfastly to the belief that the Lord Jesus Christ is the only-begotten Son of God the Father and is the sole Savior of the world. Despite numerous challenges through the ages, our faith is marked by its continuity and preservation since the time of the Apostles.

Historical Significance

St. Athanasius (296-373 A.D.), the twentieth Pope of the Coptic Church, played a pivotal role in defending the doctrine of the Lord Jesus Christ's divinity at the Council of Nicaea in 325 A.D. His unwavering stance earned him the title "Father of Orthodoxy" and St. Athanasius "the Apostolic."


The term "Coptic" is derived from the Greek word "Aigyptos," meaning "Egyptian." When the Arabs arrived in Egypt in the seventh century, they referred to the Egyptians as "qibt." Consequently, the Arabic term "qibt" came to signify both "Egyptians" and "Christians." The term "Orthodox" signifies our commitment to preserving the ancient and unaltered Christian faith as handed down from the Lord Jesus Christ to His Apostles.

Ecumenical Councils

The Coptic Orthodox Church holds the decisions of the first three Ecumenical Councils in high regard:

  1. The First Council of Nicaea (325 A.D.)

  2. The First Council of Constantinople (381 A.D.) 

  3. The Council of Ephesus (431 A.D.)

These councils are foundational to our doctrinal beliefs and continue to guide our theological and liturgical practices.

Monastic Heritage

The Coptic Orthodox Church is renowned for giving birth to the monastic movement. St. Anthony the Great, considered the first monk, began his ascetic life in the Egyptian desert in the 3rd century A.D. His commitment to a life of prayer, solitude, and spiritual discipline inspired countless others, establishing the foundations of Christian monasticism. The monastic tradition remains a vital aspect of our spiritual and ecclesiastical life and heritage.

Holy Sacraments

The Seven Sacraments of the Church are the channels by which we receive the graces and blessings of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit has been present in the Church since the day of Pentecost, when He came to dwell in it according to the Lord's promise: "I will pray to the Father, and He will give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you forever, even the Spirit of Truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him, but you know Him, for He dwells with you, and will be in you." (John 14:16-17)

The Holy Spirit works in the Church through the Sacraments, granting us His gifts, blessings, and comfort. He teaches us and guides us to the way of truth: "But the Comforter, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you." (John 14:26)

Each sacrament is "an invisible grace we receive by practicing a visible rite" as well as "a visible sign or substance performed by a priest." For this reason, the sacraments are also referred to as "mysteries."

  1. Baptism

  2. Chrismation

  3. The Eucharist

  4. Repentance and Confession

  5. Priesthood

  6. Holy Matrimony

  7. Unction of the Sick

Apostolic Continuity

The Coptic Orthodox Church is distinguished by its adherence to traditional liturgical rituals and doctrines, maintaining an unbroken succession of Patriarchs, Bishops, Priests, and Deacons that can be traced back to the Lord Jesus Christ. Our liturgical practices and theological teachings have remained consistent, reflecting our dedication to preserving the sacred traditions handed down through generations.

bottom of page